Organization Structure

The Motor Vehicles Department functions under the provisions of Section 213 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 (Central Act 59 of 1988). The Motor Vehicles Department is primarily established for enforcement of the provisions of Motor Vehicles Act 1988, Kerala Motor Vehicles Taxation Act 1976 and the rules framed under these two Acts.


The Motor Vehicles Department is regulated by the Government of Kerala in terms of policy formulation and its implementation. The Department is administered by the Transport Commissioner who is the Head of Department.
The top organisational structure of the Motor Vehicles Department is represented by the following:

Minister for Transport          -  

Secretary, Transport           -   Shri. K.R.Jyothylal

Transport Commissioner   -   Shri.S.Sreejith IPS

The Department has four functional levels:The Motor Vehicles Department, Kerala, was formed in the year 1958. Till then it was attached to the Traffic Branch of the Police Department.

  • Head Office under the Transport Commissioner
  • Four Zonal Offices under Deputy Transport Commissioners
  • Eighteen Regional Transport Offices under Regional Transport Officers, of which one Regional Transport Office having state wide jurisdiction exclusively for Nationalised Sector and
  • 69 Sub Regional Transport Offices.

In addition, there are 19 Motor Vehicles Border Check Posts headed by Motor Vehicle Inspectors. At the Head Office, one Additional Transport Commissioner, two Joint Transport Commissioners, one Senior Deputy Transport Commissioners, one Assistant Transport Commissioner, one Administrative Officer, one Finance Officer, one Law Officer, one Assistant Secretary, one Statistical Officer and one Accounts Officer are there to assist the Transport Commissioner. In addition, a Technical Advisor also assists him exclusively on matters connected with the control of Automobile Pollution, Computerisation and Modernisation of the Department.